Skip to content

1000 Miles at Harpers Ferry

July 8, 2010

I learned early during my journey that I’d drive myself crazy if my one goal was to sit atop Mt. Katahdin. It seemed like too distant, and too insane, a motivator, so I set smaller goals … such as just making it to the next town. For the last three months, I obsessed over reaching Harpers Ferry, WV, which sits at the beautiful 1,014 mile marker (from Springer, GA). Something about reaching the thousand mile marker seemed exhilarating, and I thought that if I could get to Harpers Ferry, surely I could hike another 1,000-plus miles to get to Maine.

But Harpers Ferry isn’t a highlight just for me. The town is considered the “psychological halfway point” on the trail. Because of constant reroutes, the technical halfway point changes practically each year. It’s tradition for thru hikers (whether north or south bound) to swing by the Appalachian Trail Conservancy (ATC) headquarters to sign the register and have their photos taken in order to be included in the official hiker count for the hiking season. I was thru hiker #338 (for this season) to pass through the town.

Think of the ATC as the trail equivalent of the grand wizard in Dorothy’s Oz … they’re the ones behind all the smoke and mirrors. The ATC works with thousands of volunteers to maintain and protect the foot path that so many of us enjoy. Their headquarters is open to the public and has an abundance of informational materials about the trail. If you’re interested in learning more about the trail and meeting whatever smelly thru hikers happen to be passing through, stop on by and hang out for a while! Click here to visit the ATC website.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 3:41 pm

    This is so great! I wish I was hiking with you guys!

  2. Julie Z permalink
    July 11, 2010 2:41 am

    Congrats on meeting your major milestone! I saw your family and Peanut last weekend and got to hear stories of how things are going. You are amazing! I planned to make a donation to Alpine Initiatives when you finished, but I will go ahead and donate $1 for every day you’ve hiked so far! Good luck and with the rest of your travels, you’ve got friends routing for you!

  3. Kate permalink
    July 13, 2010 3:51 pm

    Amazing milestone!!! You made it and we all knew you would. But, we didn’t know you would do it with such style! Rock on!!

  4. Jamie permalink
    July 14, 2010 8:10 pm

    YAY!!!!! So proud of you!!! What an accomplishment! We’re all thinking about you and wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

